Community Events

Welcome to our SAO Community Events page! If you have an event in your Suzuki community you’d like us to advertise for you here, please let us know by contacting us.

May 6, 2021: Staying Warm – Allyship in Action

The Schoen Duo studio is hosting two webinars with naheyawin in April and May of 2021
 
Suzuki teachers are becoming increasingly aware of the very European bias in the music that we usually teach, and are interested in expanding the repertoire to include pieces written by a broader demographic. This includes both classical music by BIPOC composers and folk music from a wider variety of cultural traditions. But how can we acknowledge Indigenous musical traditions with our students in an appropriate and respectful way? When Kathleen asked Hunter Cardinal this question, he consulted with Jacquelyn and returned with this webinar offering, customized to the needs of our Suzuki teaching community.
 
Both webinars are at 10:00 am MDT
  • 9:00 am PDT
  • 11:00 am CDT
  • 12:00 noon EDT
  • 1:00 pm ADT
  • 1:30 pm NDT
 
Zoom links to the webinars will be sent to the email address given in your registration the day before the event.
 
Cost: Pay what you can, by donation.
 
Payment: Donate via PayPal or by e-transfer (email schoenduo@gmail.com)
 
If you want to attend, but can’t afford to pay, you are still welcome to register.
If you can offer a donation to offset the cost of presenting these webinars, pay what you can.